I won money in a business competition! how? read this post to find out :)

This blog focuses on photography…and business.  Together.  So..I did one post on photography tonight (my own business actually) and this post will focus on the business side of things.

Yesterday evening I won $600 at a business competition hosted at my college, Eastern Mennonite Universtiy (EMU) (By the way…I am not Mennonite.  I am a non-denominational Christian).  How did I get the money??! It wasn’t easy. I went through months of work to create a business plan focusing on cash flow, marketing, and operations planning.  My business plan took hours of work, and loads of trial and error and having others critique my cash flow and business goals.  NEWS FLASH! You need to put in a lot of work to be a business owner.  However, it can be done!

The business competition featured seven different judges, all pretty high up in the business world, who offered their suggestions and encouraging critiques for me and the three other competitors for that night.  I found that I was able to remain pretty calm all night since I am used to presenting my business to others.  Since I have been a business owner, I have learned how important it is to remain professional when talking about my business at any time.  In other words…every time I talk about my business to another person I am essentially giving my elevator pitch, which is what I did during last night’s business competition.

So how did I put my business plan together and present it to the judges to win $600?  I attended a class at EMU which allowed me to be working on my business plan while getting constructive criticizm from the teacher at the same time.  Fortunately, I was very lucky in that I could meet with the professor outside of class to go over the weaknesses in my plan and build it up.  During the presentation, I also presented a portfolio which could actually be held by each judge since it was a little black book with my pictures in it and a set of business cards.  Each judge was able to flip through my work while listening to my presentation.  I kept my presentation fairly simple, making sure to address all the specifics of my business including: My goals for the business, my history in business, my cash flow plan and how I intended to spend my money, how I intended to get a profit, what I would do if I could not work or got sick during a wedding, how I distributed my work to clients, what companies I used for packaging and shipment, etc.  The more specific you get when presenting your business plan, the more likely the judges will look at you as if you know what you are talking about.

My elevator pitch:
long version:  What would be more important to you if you were considering hiring a photographer for an event or session: price or quality?  As a wedding a portrait photographer located in Harrisonburg, Virginia, I give clients both.  I provide great quality photos and customer service at an affordable price by offering clients detailed packages that fit their needs.  I am committed to selling clients photos that highlight that client’s personality and addresses their need for photos of incredible sentimental value.
short version:  I provide quality photos and cusomer service at affordable rates while offering clients detailed packages that highlight that client’s personality, addressing their need for photos of incredible sentimental value.

How can this help you?
Photographers:  Make a business plan.  No, seriously.  I found that during this class I was able to figure out a lot of things about my business that had taken me months to figure out before.  Creating a business plan can help you to dig deep into the dark corners of business that you may have been previously skipping over.
Readers:  Share this post! :0)  Also, since I am assuming that my followers are attracted to this blog because they are business owners themselves, I encourage each of you to talk about your business or even your idea to others.  Especially those of high positions.  Use anyone who knows what they are talking about to your advantage.  Other business owners are not meant to be intimidating, but rather can be used to help you out!  If you are shy, you will probably not make it very far.  Talk to people! Learn!

Comment below please 🙂
-Casey

Leave a comment